Posted by: Jennifer | March 13, 2010

A Reflection of His Glory

       Every morning I do my best to spend some quiet time with God before the children are up. I always sit facing a window that looks out on my neighbor’s oak and palm trees. One morning as I sat staring out that window, I noticed a single strand of a spider’s web hanging from an oak branch, the industrious spider suspended between tree and ground. At first the strand was scarcely visible, but as the sun rose higher, the sunlight caught the strand making it glow brightly. There it was, one tiny thread, visible from probably 20 feet away for only one reason – it was reflecting the sun.
       The poignancy was too obvious to ignore. There I sat, Bible in my lap, day timer open on the table before me, praying over the day ahead, and wondering how one seemingly inconsequential life filled with so many limitations could truly impact those around me. Fame as the world views it would never be mine, fortune might never grace my future, but if the Son of God was reflected by my life that day, I could shine for His glory. And, a life lived reflecting His glory is a life of lasting consequence! 

Matthew 5:16
Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.
 

Sunrise at Jupiter Beach
Responses

  1. 2 COR 3:18 So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord–who is the Spirit–makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

