Posted by: Jennifer | April 24, 2010

Deferred Hope?

Proverbs 13:12  “Hope deferred maketh the heart sick…”

This past week I’ve had a “sick” heart over something I’ve been hoping and dreaming about for a long time.  Yet, all week long, God has placed specific signs in my path that have shown me it’s time to set that dream aside.  Feeling rather down about it, I asked my husband if he knew of a good counter verse to Prov. 13:12 and his instantaneous response was Ruth 1:12:

 “I have hope, if I should have an husband also to night…” 

Yes, he’s a funny guy, but aside from a good laugh it didn’t give me much help, until he mentioned Proverbs 3:13-18.

Now, those verses in Proverbs 3 are the classic verses on wisdom and at first I didn’t get the connection.  How were the ‘wisdom verses’ going to help me with my ‘deferred hope?’  Then I reread verse 18:

 “She (wisdom) is a tree of life to them that lay hold upon her: and happy is every one that retaineth her.” 

And, realization hit: God gives wisdom and I needed the wisdom to know the difference between a personal dream and God’s will for me for this stage of my life.  If I have the wisdom to step back from that dream and consider that God knows my future and my ‘expected end’ (Jer. 29:11), then letting the dream go is not giving up but a realization that God has something better for me…

At the same time that God has been closing doors on my dream all week, He has been opening them faster than I could ever imagine regarding something completely different, something I had let go of years ago.  You know, the world tells us to push, push, push and never give up.  But, God tells us to pray, seek His face, and then we’ll have the wisdom to know whether or not we should keep pushing or whether we should set our plans aside in order to allow place for the new direction He wants to take us.

I don’t know what your dreams are this morning, but I suspect at some time in your recent past your hope has been deferred and it has made you heartsick.  May you remember, as I have, that the ‘God who knows the future’ is holding your hand! 

  Today, I place my hope in Him, the One who anchors my soul. (Hebrews 13:5)

Responses

  1. Most of our dreams are just dust in the wind, Jennifer. In the face of true Significance, you will realize their nothingness…

  2. Wonderful thoughts! Thanks for your encouragement, dear sister. Is’nt it fun to have a husband with whom we can share our faith?

  3. Very nice. I agree with you about the push, push, push of today’s world. It’s hard to be quiet and realize God won’t love us any more than he does right now. We don’t have anything to prove to Him, just to ourselves.

    • Jill, I love the beach-themed pictures on your site. My first novel is a perfect beach read – two people have told me they saved it to read at the beach. The best, though, was when I was at the beach one day and saw someone reading it! That was a great moment!

  4. Funny husband you have! Mine has the same since of humor! They must be related somehow!

    Good post. We often want things “our” way but our God, who holds our future knows what is better for us. Sure, we can be bummed things did not turn out like we had hoped, as long as we know, that God’s way is better and rest in Him and not get angry, as so many do. I thank God I don’t have to worry about my future because I take comfort in knowing He is in control.

    Thanks for the reminder of this. With moving, I have had hard times emotionally and this post was timely.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

